Author Article: Anupama Dalmia

Hello author, on behalf of all the readers, we would like to discuss something about you and of course, your book as well.  This conversation will help reader to know more about you and your debut book.

Criticspace: Most welcome to Criticspace, Author. We heartily congratulate you for being a published author. It’s really a great achievement. First thing, we would like to know about your basic info as a person, daily life, career so far and anything you would like to share about you with your readers.

Author: I am a go-getter and a passionate person and believe in giving my all to whatever I set my heart on. I juggle between various lines of work along with raising a 4-year-old girl around whom my world revolves. I am an author, blogger, trained dancer and mentor. As an entrepreneur, I manage 3 ventures – Rhythms & Beats which is a dance enterprise as a part of which we conduct dance events and workshops; Beyond the Box under which we mentor children as well as adults on creative writing and thinking; Tingle Your Taste Buds which is a cookery website I run along with my mother that we have monetized through advertisements and collaborations. Because I don multiple hats, I usually have very hectic schedules but I am loving every bit of it. There is nothing more satisfying than living your passions every day. I feel strongly about working towards the betterment of the society and hope that through my work, I can do my bit and bring about a change in the lives of the people I connect with on a daily basis.

Criticspace: That’s really great; please tell us something about your journey of becoming an author. When you actually started writing and how was the circumstance? Did any person or situation influenced you to write your debut book or was it your childhood hobby of writing?

Author: By qualification, I am an MBA in Systems and Finance, prior to which I had completed B.E. in Computer Science. I went on to work at a corporate IT giant for 6.5 years but because I was always a creatively inclined person, I began to feel a void. I resigned to pursue my career in the field of dance and social service by volunteering with NGOs. Writing was not in my scheme of things back then. It was a hobby I had nurtured since childhood but never in my wildest of dreams had I imagined that I would venture into writing as a profession some day. I still remember that I had penned my first creative piece, a poem, when I was down with chicken pox in the 8th grade. Soon I began to enjoy expressing my thoughts and creating stories and poems. After the birth of my daughter, I penned a poem after years for her on our first Mother’s Day. My husband saw potential and I was absolutely aghast with the idea of sharing my random musings with the world. But, he persisted and created a blog for me. I finally gave in and published my first blog in February 2016. It was chosen as one of the top articles on a leading parenting platform and the rest, as they say, is history. My debut e-book “Aarohi” was actually published as a part of a contest on Amazon in collaboration with Hindu. The seeds of the story were already sown in my head and when I came across this fantastic contest, I went for it with my heart and soul.

Criticspace: Please tell the reader something about your book. What is your message to those readers who have still not read the book? Why they should pick it up for reading?

Author: “Aarohi” is a kind of book that I would not like to give away much about to anyone. It is an experience which a reader must go through without any pre-conceived notions. Firstly, I want to thank everyone who has taken out time to read the book and share their valuable feedback with me. Those who haven’t read it – please read the book and I am sure you will relate to it at some level. It is a story about love, loss and friendship which I hope will impact you in a way that stays with you.

Criticspace: And yes, the most important thing we would like to hear from you is what is your message to those new writers who have not yet started their journey of becoming an author? You have been their source of motivation, please convey your thoughts with them.

Author: Honestly, I do not know if I am at a place where I can give advice to new writers. But, based on my experience, my simple message would be – “Write, read, practise and work on your craft. Do not worry about getting published. Honestly, there are many avenues for becoming an author today but what is more important is writing something you would be proud of. So, always be willing to learn and be open to constructive feedback. Also, please don’t hesitate to market your book, but do not overdo it either. The job of writers today does not just end at writing, whether we like it or not. So, believe in yourself and go soar!”

Criticspace: That’s really great! We wish you all good luck for your literature career.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started